We Believe in Jesus Christ

10600_668592573154799_1621998479_n

Joe and I are members of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints… in other words, we’re Mormons! Most people know our church by our nickname- Mormons. This nickname has caused a lot of confusion (and still does) because people think we don’t believe in Jesus Christ. So we like to use the full name of our church because it has Christ’s name in it, which shows that we believe in Him.

First and foremost, we believe in Jesus Christ. We believe that He came to Earth and lived a perfect life. His life is an example for all of us of how we should be. Since none of us are perfect, like Christ, His life is just the goal. He knows that we will mess up sometimes (a lot of times for me!), so when he was on the Earth he suffered for our sins. In the Garden of Gethsemane, Jesus Christ suffered for all of our sins and mistakes. this makes it possible for Him to forgive us- because He already suffered the consequences.

Christ didn’t suffer for just our sins (even though that is more than enough), He felt our pains and sorrows too. Why?! Why would He need/want to feel our hurt- physical and emotional? He did it so that He would know how to help us through our lives. When you’ve experienced something difficult and then someone else experiences it too, wouldn’t you say you know how to help them? Well that’s what Christ did. He felt our worst times, our deepest sorrows and fears, and our greatest pain. He did it so that He could know how to help us in our worst times.

I know that Christ felt my pains and that He suffered for my sins. At the hardest times in my life, I have turned to Christ through prayer and felt relief, comfort, and answers to my questions. He knows me better than anyone because He felt what I have felt. When I have sinned I have turned to Him and asked for forgiveness. He has taken away the guilt and anger and turned it into hope and a desire to be better. I don’t know how I would get through life without having a relationship with Jesus Christ. I need to continue strengthening it and becoming more like Him.

For more information on our beliefs, visit Mormon.org.

Leave a Reply

