{Our Love Story} Part 4

Holy Moly!!

Wow I kind of forgot I had a blog.

Like seriously Christmas happened, New Years happened, the beginning of the year happened and I guess my life has just been crazy or something! I have SO much to blog about, but first let me finish our love story.

{Our Love Story Part 4}

I left off explaining our first date. After that date, Joe and I didn’t go a day without seeing each other or talking to each other. Sometimes I worked all day and he worked late, so he would come sit on the front curb and we would talk until we were about to fall asleep. Honestly I don’t remember what we did, but we were together as much as possible and texting when we couldn’t be together. We used the draw something app to send messages to each other, but we wouldn’t draw anything, we would just write random things and have random conversations. We were weird… but we seriously just loved talking to each other. Even on our first date we would always say “I don’t know why I’m telling you this, but…” Like seriously we told each other everything, but for some reason it just was easy to talk to each other and geez I’m grateful for that.

One night, when me and Joe were first going out, we were slowly driving down Durango, talking about life, being super calm and romantical (me and Joe’s invented word), when all of a sudden we got pulled over! We were so confused… we wondered if we were being pulled over for going too slow, but negatory, Joe’s headlights weren’t on! Now that really is no big deal, but the cop was super strange and made Joe get out of the car because he thought he was drunk. Like seriously we had done nothing but sit there and ask why we were pulled over. Maybe he could sense the love-drunkness (hahahahaha jk jk). So Joe had to get out of the car and the cop stood on a curb so he could shine a light in Joe’s eyes and make him follow his finger.

It. Was. Hilar.

My video won’t load, but here is the picture I took from the rear view mirror… Seriously the funniest night ever.

IMG_0168

One of the things that made me realize I really liked Joe was how I acted when I walked inside the house after a date with him. I found myself standing in the dark hallway completely zoned out thinking about Joe, our date, etc MANY TIMES! Like I walked in and just stood there thinking about him for a long time. Probably doing silent giggles… I was loosing it people. Totally loosing it.

By now you’re probably wondering what had happened to Joe’s Beiber hair… Now don’t you worry at this point, this boy was still sagging and still shagging (as in his pants and his hair) until the fateful day that Joe asked…

“If you could change one thing about me, what would it be?”

Whoa… what do I say to that?! I realized this could be my chance to come out with my feelings about the hair… so I took the chance and responded…

“Your hair. I want to see it short. (phew that was brave!) What would you change about me?”

“Nothing,” Joe responded…..

OUCH! I was such a jerk. He said  nothing and I told him to cut his hair! Total jerk move on my part. Sorry Joe. BUT in my defense, it worked! For that conversation, we were in Brian Head for the 4th of July and right after that I went to Provo to work a summer camp for Young Ambassadors. And what do you know, while I was gone I got a snap chat of Joe with short hair! He was so cute. I knew it. (Not that he wasn’t cute with long hair, but ya, short is way cuter.)

IMG_0524

When I came home from 2 weeks in Provo, Joe asked me to be his girlfriend (Oooo) and I said yes. I was a little hesitant because I knew I would have to move back to Provo at the end of the summer, but I really liked being around him, so I thought, what the heck?! Why not!

As the summer went on, Joe’s family California Trip was approaching. Some of Joe’s Aunts, Uncles, and cousins on his mom’s side meet up in Newport for a weekend and Joe invited me! I was super nervous, but I wanted to be with him, so I said yes.

That trip was the pivotal point in our relationship. Something was wrong with me the whole trip and I couldn’t figure it out…. I was JEALOUS of anyone that spent time with Joe or talked to Joe… like seriously I had issues. I didn’t want to share him with his own family! I know… so dumb right, but I couldn’t help it. I just didn’t want him to be around anyone but me and I wanted him all to myself. I found myself staring at him too… like a lot. I can remember a specific moment when I was sitting on the beach watching Joe come out of the water in his red, yellow, and black swimsuit. He was making his hardcore “game face” with his nose wrinkled and his mouth open and was just his huge, tall, clumsy self and I thought.. ” Oh my gosh. I am completely head over heels in love with this boy.”

And seriously people I was. Once we got home from California I told him I loved him. Yep… I said it first! But he said it right back and we laughed and kissed and said it over and over again (cheesy cheesy cheesy, but that’s like my favorite moment ever. I had to include it).

Things just took off after that. Joe came to Cali with my family and passed the “Kaleb” test (aka my nephew Kaleb attacked him all week and he didn’t throw him across the room ever hahaha) and we were pretty attached. IMG_0505

217034_381834101887821_1807235396_n526285_10151378709519546_705406988_n

Well then the end of the summer came and it was time for me to move back to Provo. I started sobbing DAYS before I had to move (the first time in the car in the Target parking lot) and as I drove to Provo a few days later, I sobbed all the way to Mesquite (about an hour and a half) and then randomly throughout the drive I would burst into tears (drama much?). I was so sad just because I had been so happy. We had so much fun together and it was going to be so sad to not see him everyday and be with him. But I needed to finish school and had been cast in a show and had a housing contract and didn’t know what the future held for me and Joe… so I went and our long distance relationship began.

One of the other things that scared me about long distance was… well ME. I hadn’t been the best at relationships for the past year or so and I was afraid that I was kind of broken when it came to falling in love. I was super wishy washy and easily distracted… I hadn’t been that way with Joe so far, but I was nervous that I would move away and forget how happy he made me and think long distance wasn’t worth it anymore and just ruin everything for us… but especially for myself.

I worried about it and thought about it and I had a bit of a revelation (my sister helped me come to this revelation). I realized it was my choice and that I just had to continue to make him priority. I could move away and get sucked into lesser things and forget, or I could go up there and make him the biggest priority in my life. So I did!

I soon I realized that I had nothing to be afraid of. Talking to him was my favorite thing to do. I had pictures of him everywhere and I was just as obsessed with him as always.

We drove to see each other as much as possible! I surprised him, he surprised me, it was pretty fun. But the weeks of not seeing each other… NOT fun!

IMG_0917

Well one day after we had seen each other for a weekend and had an especially hard time saying goodbye, Joe called me and said “I think I’m going to move to Provo.”

My reaction was weird.  I thought he was crazy and unrealistic. I didn’t want him to drop out of school and it just seemed so impossible. But once I hung up with him, I told my roommates and they freaked out! They talked about how fun it would be to see him everyday and how adorable it was that he wanted to move up to be with me and after 5 seconds of that, I was sold! I called him back and said “Yes!! Please move here!”

Well after a lot of thought and prayer, Joe dropped out of UNLV and moved to Provo. He moved in with his grandparents, got a job at Fred Meyer Jewelers and we spent every second we could together!

I am SO grateful that Joe decided to move to Utah. It had only been a month of long distance and I don’t know if we could have lasted much longer. We are much too emotional of people for that.

But the long distance also accelerated our relationship. We had a lot of things to decide. If Joe was really going to move to Provo then that meant things were really going somewhere. We talked about getting married sooner than I think we would have if we were in living in the same city. Being apart just pushed us to decide how we really felt about each other. So he moved to Provo and over Thanksgiving, Joe proposed!

IMG_1336

Living in Provo was so fun, we got to spend time with so many wonderful friends who will be friends for life!

Once I finished that semester, I had one class left that I could take at CSN and transfer to BYU, so we moved back to Vegas. Joe got back into school, we planned our wedding, and on March 8th we were married in the Las Vegas LDS Temple. IMG_2064It’s hard for me to think back to this time of my life without wanting to bawl my freaking eyes out! I don’t why I got lucky enough to find Joe. He LITERALLY is the most perfect fit for me that there could ever be. He makes me into a better person, he loves me for all my stupid quirks, and he is a hard-working, motivated husband.

If I’ve learned anything in my 24 years of life, I’ve learned that God knows me, but more than that, He has a plan for me and His plan is A MILLION TIMES better than my plan for myself. He can see everything and I can only see what’s happening in the moment. I am so grateful that I learned to pray and ask God what He wanted me to do. I don’t know if I would have met Joe if I hadn’t done that and geez, where would my life be then?!

Joe and I will have our 2 year anniversary this March,

Our little boy is due July 6th,

And we’ll be moving to Minnesota for Grad School in August!

We have so many adventures ahead and I wouldn’t want to experience them with anyone else!

Leave a Reply

