My Happiness Project- November

My Happiness Project for November is focused on ENERGY!

In the book “My Happiness Project”, the author chooses this theme as well and it is quite inspiring! Energy encompasses many things and with this goal I will be working on the following:

  • Sleep 7 1/2 hours
  • Exercise
  • Eat 5 servings of Veggies
  • Eat 4 servings of Fruits
  • Meal Prep/ daily snack plate
  • Leave the house/ socialize
  • Find a new hobby/skill
  • BONUS- practice piano

WOO!! That’s a lot, but I got this!!!!!! (high-five ing myself as I type)

Sleeping 7 1/2 hours

Many people are reading that thinking that I’m letting myself sleep longer… nah peeps I’m sleeping less. I know I know I am super lucky to have the problem of sleeping more than 7 1/2 hours, but its a real problem.

Part of the problem is that I’m still waking up in the night to feed Wes and my brain is always listening for him to cry, so I don’t know how much deep sleep I’m really getting. I have to force myself to wake up at a certain time or I can just keep sleeping and wake up in serious zombie mode. Maybe I should allow myself more sleep, since its interrupted sleep, but I prefer to sleep 7 1/2 hours and then allow myself a nap if I need it!

Exercise

It’s lame that I’m so bad at this, but exercising has never been my forte. I just am not good at making it a priority and when you get out of the habit, it’s hard to get back in. And that’s where I’m at!

I have to do it early in the morning or else its too easy to push off. So, I’m trying to do youtube videos (no gym pass and too much snow in the winter) for at least 30 minutes and my goal is to sweat! Once I get more in the habit, I can start working on specific things, but that’s good for me right now. I’ve actually found great workout videos from a youtube channel called Fitness Blender. Love them!

5 servings of Veggies/ 4 servings of Fruits

Whew this is hard! Fruits are easier because they are easier to grab. I have to do mostly cooked veggies because 5 servings of raw veggies (or even 2 servings) is way too much fiber for me. This makes it extra tricky. Hence the reason I need my next goal….

Meal Prep/ Snack Plate

I haven’t done this yet, so this will be new, but I have to take time to cut up veggies or else I won’t eat them! I’m going to try getting things ready on Monday after I grocery shop and possibly one other day of the week so that it stays fresh. Then I can spend the time cooking it or just grab it and go! Hopefully between this and green smoothies I can get all the veggies I need!

A snack plate is an idea I got from my new favorite blog- Word of Wisdom Living! Preparing a snack plate in the morning #1- controls portions #2- makes healthy snacks easier and #3 helps you know and remember exactly what you’re eating! Read the post on it here.

Leave the house/ Socialize

I HAVE to try to leave the house or at least see other humans everyday. Especially with the cold weather here in Minneapolis, I know it will be easy to just hide out and get depressed only having conversations with a 4 month old. So I have to get outside while I still can and I have to do something social everyday!!

Find a new hobby/skill

I am doing MUCH better at my morning routine, which means I accomplish a lot in the morning- exercising, chores, getting ready, reading scriptures, praying, and etc. So come afternoon, I have some down time. In order to not lose my mind… I have to find a new hobby! Something that I look forward to and that will keep me busy. My goal this month is to try some different things and to find what works for me! Blogging is completely selfish. It keeps me sane because it allows me to almost “speak” my thoughts and I seem to have a need to talk a lot haha or I lose my mind. One of my roommates at BYU would always tease me because the second I got home from school I had SO much to say!! I had been walking around campus or sitting in class all day thinking about things and when I got home I had to just let it all out!! Well I noticed yesterday that blogging does that for me. I don’t care if anyone reads it, but it totally makes me happier to sit down and write about something!

So… I’m going to try blogging more regularly. Hopefully I can find my own little thing to blog about. The world is my oyster!

If blogging doesn’t work, I’ll look for other hobbies! I just need to explore and enjoy this free time while I have it!

+bonus practicing piano

I am TERRIBLE at practicing the piano! So this is on my list to keep me thinking about it- and hopefully doing it!

There you have it! Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

